I saw this amazing ricotta recipe on shutterbean.com
( http://www.shutterbean.com/homemade-ricotta/) and I decided I am going to make my own ricotta cheese this very Sunday! I did it and I used the ricotta afterwards, two ways.
The results were amazing! Creamy, smooth, heavenly, fresh, rich, addicting yumminess! Anyone out there who is into homemade cheeses should definitely try it. It is easy. And it is oh, so delicious.

Here is what you need:

4 cups of milk
2 cups of heavy cream
1 teaspoon of salt
3 tablespoons of white wine vinegar

Measure the milk and the cream into a pot. Add the salt. Boil it.

After it boils turn it off and add the vinegar.

Let it sit for a minute and watch how the whey will separate from the curds! Now pour it over the cheesecloth. ( Dampen the cloth before putting it over the sieve. Set a big bowl under the sieve for the dripping whey. )

Let it sit for 40 minutes – 1 hour. The longer it sits the more whey will drip out and you will get firmer cheese. Mine sat for about 50 minutes.

Done! :))))

 Now, since I had this amazing fresh ricotta sitting on my table I made two things:


Herbed ricotta bruschetta and ricotta stuffed squash blossoms

For the Herbed ricotta bruschetta  I sliced some baguette, dipped it into good quality olive oil and grilled it a little. After it cools rub a little garlic on the crostini if you like. I liked!

I brought in a bunch of herbs ( parsley, basil, oregano, chives) chopped them and mixed it with half of the ricotta:

Spread on the crostini.  Herbed ricotta bruschetta . Voila!

For the Ricotta stuffed squash blossoms you will need squash blossoms :))) daaaaaaaaa
Aren’t they beautiful??? Here they are drying after soaking in cold water.

Next step is to add some herbs, lemon zest, salt and pepper to the remaining ricotta and then stuff the blossoms. It is kinda hard to do it but if the stuffing is in and you are able to twist the petals together on the top you did a great job! Point is: stuffing needs to be inside!

Next step is to get some flour and whisk some eggs. Now roll the stuffed blossoms in flour and dip them in the egg:

Now fry:

Ricotta stuffed squash blossoms 🙂 Voila!

Next step is to invite some friends over and have a fiesta! This afternoon we were trying out our new grill, so we grilled some meat and ate the delicious ricotta appetizers. + Melissa’s delicious, picture perfect, home made sour cream bundt cake! yummmmmmmm!

I hope you had a nice Sunday too!

XXOO

  

